Messi-Led Argentina Wins FIFA World Cup, Defeats France 4-2 On Penalties

Messi-Led Argentina Wins FIFA World Cup, Defeats France 4-2 On Penalties

Argentina’s Lionel Messi led his team to victory in the FIFA World Cup, defeating France 4-2 on penalties after a 2-2 draw in the final. This was the country’s first World Cup victory, and it came as a major surprise to many. Argentina had started the tournament poorly, losing their opening group game to Croatia before scraping past Nigeria on away goals. But once they reached the final, Messi and his teammates showed why they are considered one of the best teams in world football. France had been favourites going into the match, but they were unable to score against a tenacious Argentina defence. And even when they did manage to take the lead, Esteban Cambiasso equalised just before half time. On penalties, it was all Messi as he scored all four of his kicks. This capped off an incredible tournament for the Barcelona player and Argentina as a whole.

The Final

In the end, it was Lionel Messi who led Argentina to victory on Sunday as they defeated France 5-4 on penalties after a 1-1 draw in 120 minutes. The Barcelona superstar took home the Golden Ball as MVP of the tournament and his fourth World Cup title overall.

It was a tense final that saw both sides take their chances, but it was Messi who finally stole the show with a stunning volley in the 109th minute to give Argentina breathing room. However, it was France who looked most likely to score the winning penalty in normal time when Antoine Griezmann’s effort was saved by Argentine goalkeeper Sergio Romero.

But things got rather nervy in extra time as neither side could find a way past Romero and eventually it came down to penalties. With France having won 4-2 on spot kicks at this World Cup, it seemed like they would take home their second title. But Argentine striker Gonzalo Higuain missed an initial spot kick for his nation and then Paul Pogba’s effort was saved by Romero as well.

That left Karim Benzema with the chance to win it for France, but he failed to convert from 12 yards out and so it went to penalties once again – this time with Messi scoring all four of Argentina’s goals (including one truly outrageous backheel). It made for an emotional moment as France players hugged each other in relief while Argentina supporters erupted into celebration.

Messi’s Performance

In the end, it was Leo Messi who delivered Argentina their first ever World Cup triumph on Sunday night, as he scored a beautiful free-kick in the 109th minute to seal a 3-2 victory over France after they had taken the lead through Paul Pogba. The Barcelona forward’s heroics continued thereafter, as he scored all three of his team’s penalties in sudden death extra time to send fans into raptures all around the world. Messi has now won four Ballon d’Or awards and is arguably one of the greatest players of all time.

Argentina’s Starting XI

Argentina’s starting XI

The Argentinian national team went into the World Cup as one of the favourites, and they didn’t disappoint. Lionel Messi led his team to victory against France in the final on penalties after a 0-0 draw in normal time. France had some impressive players, but it was Messi who stole the show. Here are the members of Argentina’s starting XI: 

Lionel Messi – The Barcelona superstar was simply brilliant throughout the tournament. He scored 44 goals in 48 matches for Argentina, including four goals in the knockout stages.

Gonzalo Higuain – Higuain is another star player for Juventus, and he played a big role in helping Argentina reach the final. He scored six goals during the tournament and helped set up many others for his team-mates.

Ezequiel Lavezzi – Lavezzi has been one of Serie A’s most prolific goal scorers for years now, and he showed why again at this World Cup. He scored three goals during the tournament and was always a threat to score crucial goals for Argentina.

Andres Iniesta – Iniesta is one of Spain’s most decorated players, having won numerous honours with Barcelona and Spain over the years. At 36 years old, he still has plenty of football left in him and proved this by playing an important role for Argentine midfield throughout the World Cup.

Javier Mascherano – Mascherano is another experienced

France’s Starting XI

In a hotly-contested final, Argentina emerged victorious, and Lionel Messi led their way to glory with a brilliant performance. Starting XI:

1. Sergio Romero (Italy/Manchester United)

2. Gabriel Mercado (Peru/Sevilla)

3. Javier Mascherano (Argentina/Barcelona)

4. Marcos Rojo (Argentina/Manchester United)

5. Leo Messi (Argentina/Barcelona) 

6. Filipe Luis (Brazil/Atletico Madrid) 

7. Eduardo Salvio (Chile/Benfica) 

8.Angel Di Maria (Argentina/Paris Saint-Germain) 

9. Cristiano Ronaldo(Portugal/Real Madrid CF) 

10. Gonzalo Higuaín (Uruguay/Juventus FC).

The Match In Pictures

After 120 minutes of regulation and overtime, France were the victors as they claimed another title on home soil. However, it was not to be as after the match went to penalties, a Messi-led Argentina took home the cup. The final scoreline saw France win 4-2 onpenalties, with Zlatan Ibrahimovic scoring the decisive goal in the shootout. This was Argentina’s fourth World Cup trophy – their first coming in 1978.

The Post-Match Reaction

After a tense final, Lionel Messi and Argentina claimed the FIFA World Cup trophy with a 3-2 victory over France on Sunday evening. The Albiceleste dominated possession throughout, but lacked the killer instinct in the final third. It was France who took the lead through Antoine Griezmann in the 24th minute, but Messi levelled soon after with a brilliant free-kick. Just before half time, Angel Di Maria saw red for taking down Paul Pogba – handing France a penalty which Olivier Giroud duly converted. But Argentina were not to be denied as Messi restored parity three minutes from full time. And it was his second of the match which proved decisive as he scored his side’s third from close range following another great free-kick. As for France, their loss sees them exit the tournament for the fourth consecutive year – leaving Belgium in their place as world champions.


After 120 minutes of play and two overtimes, it was finally Messi’s turn. And he didn’t disappoint, scoring the game-winner in the 113th minute to give Argentina a 4-2 victory over France on Sunday night in Moscow. With the win, Lionel Messi became only the second player (after Diego Maradona) to lead his country to World Cup glory and also claim individual honours as best player of the tournament. As for Les Bleus? They’ll have to console themselves with silverware after losing their fourth consecutive final.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *