Full List Of Ballon d’Or 2023 Award Winners, And Nominees

Full List Of Ballon d’Or 2023 Award Winners, And Nominees

Football is back! For those of you who were living under a rock (or just didn’t watch the World Cup), that’s right, football is back. And with that comes the Ballon d’Or Awards, which are presented annually to the best player in the world. This year’s list of winners and nominees is unsurprisingly long, so we decided to break it down into sections for your convenience. Read on to see who took home this year’s top award, and be sure to vote for your favorite player in the poll below!

Cristiano Ronaldo

Cristiano Ronaldo is a global superstar and two-time Ballon d’Or winner. He has won the prestigious award twice, in 2007 and 2016. Ronaldo is one of the most successful goal scorers in football history, with totals of 451 goals in official competitions. He has also been nominated for the award nine times, winning twice along the way. Ronaldo is currently playing for Juventus.

Luka Modric

Luka Modric has emerged as one of the best midfielders in world football, and is a strong contender for this year’s Ballon d’Or Award. The Croatia international has been a key player for Real Madrid since joining from Tottenham Hotspur in 2013, and has helped them win three La Liga titles and the Champions League. He was also a member of Croatia’s team that won the 2018 World Cup.

Modric has been praised for his ability to control the game, passing and shooting. He is also known for his stamina, work ethic, and leadership qualities. Modric is one of only four players to have been crowned European Footballer of the Year twice, and he is also the youngest player ever to be named FIFA World Player of the Year. He will compete for the Ballon d’Or against Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Neymar (PSG), Kylian Mbappe (PSG) and Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid).

Neymar Jr

Neymar Jr. is one of the world’s most talented and popular athletes, and he has always been a massive favorite to win the Ballon d’Or award. The 23-year-old Brazilian has won numerous accolades over the course of his career, including five league titles with Barcelona and two Copa America titles with Brazil. He also played a major role in Santos’ successful campaign in the Copa Libertadores last season, helping them to reach the final where they were narrowly beaten by River Plate.

This year’s Ballon d’Or nominees are:

Neymar Jr (Barcelona)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Paulo Dybala (Juventus)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)

Mohamed Salah

Mohamed Salah is the most decorated player in world football, with five Ballon d’Or awards and four La Liga titles to his name. Here’s a full list of all Ballon d’Or award winners and nominees since the inaugural edition in 1956:

1956 – Vasily Filatov ( USSR)

1957 – Alfredo Di Stéfano ( Argentina)

1958 – László Kubala ( Hungary)

1959 – Internazionale Milano ( Italy) 

1960 – Johan Cruyff ( Netherlands)

1961 – Fiorentina ( Italy) 

1962 – Real Madrid CF ( Spain) 

1963 – FC Barcelona ( Spain) 

1964 – AC Milan ( Italy) 

1965 – Liverpool F.C. ( England) 

1966 – Borussia Dortmund ( West Germany ) 

1967 – Valencia CF(Spain ) 1968 – Ajax Amsterdam( Netherlands ) 1969– Feyenoord Rotterdam( Holland ) 1970 – Atlético Madrid(Spain ) 1971 – PSV Eindhoven( Holland ) 1972 – Feyenoord Rotterdam( Holland ) 1973 – Club Brugge KV( Belgium ) 1974 FC Bayern München( Germany )) 1975- Liverpool F.C.(England)) 1976- Juventus F.C.(Italy)) 1977- Atlético Madrid(Spain )) 1978- FC Barcelona( Spain )) 1979- Real

Eden Hazard

Eden Hazard is one of the frontrunners for this year’s Ballon d’Or award. The Chelsea forward has been sensational this season, scoring 24 goals in all competitions. Hazard has already won the PFA Player of the Year and FWA Footballer of the Year awards, and it’s clear that he’s one of the best players in the world. Here are all of Hazard’s Ballon d’Or nominees and winners:

Nominee: Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Winners: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Neymar Jr. (PSG)

Kylian Mbappe

Kylian Mbappe is the most decorated player in the history of the Ballon d’Or, having won the prestigious award three times. He also has been nominated for it on multiple occasions, and could win it for a fourth time this year. The 19-year-old Frenchman is one of the most impressive players in world football and is perhaps the best young player in the game.

Mbappe began his career at Monaco, where he helped them to two Ligue 1 titles and a UEFA Champions League semifinal. He then moved to Paris Saint-Germain, where he has continued to be one of their key players. In total, he has scored 127 goals in 284 appearances for PSG, including 27 in 34 appearances this season. Mbappe is also a prolific scorer of goals outside of club football; he has scored 37 goals in 60 appearances for France national team.

Mbappe was named PFA Young Player of Year in 2017–18 and 2018–19, and was also selected as part of France’s World Cup squad this year. He is sure to be a contender for the Ballon d’Or this year, as well as for other major awards such as the FIFA World Player of Year Award and The Best Fifa Men’s Player Award.

Kevin De Bruyne

Kevin De Bruyne is the latest player to be nominated for the Ballon d’Or award. The Belgian midfielder has been in excellent form this season, scoring 12 goals and providing 14 assists in 33 appearances. He is widely regarded as one of the best players in Europe and his performances this year have earned him a nomination.

De Bruyne joined Wolfsburg from Chelsea in August 2015 and has since made an impact at the club. His performances this season have seen him named Bundesliga Player of the Year, recipient of the prestigious ESMY award and PFA Players’ Player of the Year nominee. He has also been capped 36 times by Belgium and was part of their World Cup squad last year.

The Ballon d’Or award is considered to be the highest accolade that a footballer can achieve and is voted for by journalists from around the world. This year’s nominees are: De Bruyne, Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar Jr., Eden Hazard, Antoine Griezmann, Kevin De Bruyne


The Ballon d’Or is one of the most prestigious awards in all of sport, and it is no surprise that this year’s list is packed with some of the best players in the world. From Lionel Messi to Cristiano Ronaldo, there are a host of deserving nominees who have helped lead their teams to glory this season. With only two months remaining before the award ceremony takes place on December 3rd, make sure to keep an eye out for who will be gaining recognition at this year’s Ballon d’Or Awards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *